"Super Specialization in Pharmacy Program: Need of the Hour"

- Dr. B. Suresh, President, Pharmacy Council of India opined during discussion on Comments received on B.Pharm & M.Pharm Syllabus

Date: 20th Jan, 2019 Venue: JSS College of 1

Venue: JSS College of Pharmacy, Mysuru

Pharmacy Council of India (PCI), New Delhi has laid down the syllabus for B.Pharm and M.Pharm to be implemented across India in all pharmacy institutions. This was the first such exercise to maintain uniform curricular content in all colleges imparting pharmacy education. In the process, PCI had received comments on the syllabus and imparting the same in pharmacy institutions.

To discuss the various comments received and to find a way forward, PCI had identified JSS Academy of Higher Education and Research (JSS AHER), Mysuru as the place of discussion and JSS College of Pharmacy, Mysuru as the venue for the same. In this regard, meeting was held in the college on 20th January, 2019 and all the necessary arrangements were made for the members of B.Pharm and M.Pharm syllabus committee.

On the stipulated day, the gathering of both B.Pharm and M.Pharm syllabus committee were warmly greeted and welcomed by Dr. T.M. Pramod Kumar, Principal, JSS College of Pharmacy, Mysuru. Opening remarks and the purpose of meeting was putforth by Dr. B. Suresh, President, PCI and Vice Chancellor, JSS AHER; the PCI president has emphasized the way forward about the pharmacy profession, touched upon many issues related to B.Pharm and M.Pharm courses; also implanted an idea on Super speciality courses in Pharmacy apart from Ph.D. Dr. Shailendra Saraf, Vice President –PCI and Chairman – M.Pharm syllabus committee and Dr. M.D. Karvekar, Chairman – B.Pharm syllabus committee commented on important issues related to their courses. Dr. Navin Sheth, Vice Chancellor, Gujarat Technical University, Ahmedabad added couple of thoughts on the requirements of exam reformation also along with the syllabus. Certificate of Appreciation was presented to all members by the Honourable PCI president, Dr. B. Suresh for their efforts in designing the syllabus.

A group photograph was organized in the college quadrangle, where all the dignitaries posed for the historic moment in the college. 31 members representing various prestigious universities, pharmacy institutions were captured in a single frame. All the members felt happy to be present for the occasion. A short break helped the members to discuss the issues informally before the actual meet.

The discussion on the comments received for B.Pharm and M.Pharm syllabus were held separately. Members representing the committees participated in the deliberation and provided their valuable inputs to address the issues received by the council. The meeting was found to be fruitful and the members proposed the possible solution/ decision in this regard.

A sumptuous lunch was organized in the college and the informal table discussions continued for addressing various issues. The Syllabus review meeting was very successful and all the members appreciated the arrangements and hospitality in making this meeting more meaningful. Dr. T.M. Pramod Kumar, Principal, JSS College of Pharmacy, Mysuru profusely thank Dr. B. Suresh, President, PCI and Vice Chancellor, JSS AHER for providing an opportunity to host this meeting at Mysuru. Special thanks to JSS AHER, Mysuru for providing all the logistics and other facilities required to host this event.



Dr. B. Suresh, President, PCI giving his opening remarks. Also seen are (from left) Dr. T.M. Pramod Kumar (Principal, JSS College of Pharmacy, Mysuru); Dr. M.D. Karvekar (Chairman-B.Pharm Committee); Dr. Shailendra Saraf (Vice President, PCI and Chairman-M.Pharm Committee) and Dr. Navin Sheth (Vice Chancellor, Gujarat Technological University, Ahmedabad)



Dr. B. Suresh, President, PCI addressing the members of B.Pharm & M.Pharm syllabus committee



Dr. B. Suresh, President, PCI presenting the "Certificate of Appreciation" to Dr. Shailendra Saraf, Vice President, PCI and Chairman - M.Pharm Committee



Dr. B. Suresh, President, PCI and Dr. M.D. Karvekar presenting the "Certificate of Appreciation" to Dr. Roop Krishen Kher, Member-B.Pharm Committee



Dr. B. Suresh, President, PCI and Dr. Shailendra Saraf presenting the "Certificate of Appreciation" to Dr. Navin Sheth, Member-B.Pharm Committee



Team of Experts deciding the future of Pharmaceutical Education in India



Members engaged in M.Pharm syllabus discussion



Members engaged in B.Pharm syllabus discussion